Perfect Saturday

It was a lovely Saturday that revolved on attending two birthday parties of my littlest Samuel’s friends.  They are turning five.  Samuel is turning 5 NEXT MONTH.  It was a joy to see him play and interact with his little friends from pre-k.  Unlike me, Joshua and Samuel are social butterflies.  They say hello to people as we walk past them, they inform our neighbors from across the street where we are going and make new friends instantaneously.   It was an awesome day for the boys.  Too much cake, pizza, games, jumping, and singing had them in the best mood ever. I would glance over at Samuel playing with his friends, his best friend Maddie was holding his little hand deciding on what to play next.  Chuck E. Cheese was first, and because two parties were happening on the same day it was very early.

Later, we headed to the second party.  At an inside trampoline park.  It was the first time ever going to one.  The boys were immediately attracted to the bounce house, trampolines, and slides in the park.  I could only hear the little squeals, screams, and laughter of little kids.  There were also loud whistles that the kids were immediately drawn to in their treat bags.  I was sure the little rascals were going to be exhausted but as soon as we got in the car to return home, Little Josh asked where we were headed to next.

There were no set plans, I called my little sister to get together for dinner. I love that I can do that.  It was not until three years ago that she moved to the Dallas-Fort Worth Area 3 years ago.  I adore seeing my boys with their cousins.  They are strong, smart, intelligent little girls and just watching them grow is such a privilege.  While the kids played, I sat with my sister to enjoy one of our conversations.  We can talk about anything, and since we are both in education and we share many of the same preoccupations, thoughts, and experiences, it always ends up being some of my favorite conversations.

As we chatted about our jobs, future, and parenthood, the boys ate their ice cream, and my nieces quickly proceeded to do as many cartwheels as they could. It was the perfect night to sit outside, eating ice cream and talking about whatever thought about.  I can honestly say that spending time with family is one of my favorite ways to spend my weekend.

Our topics of conversation weaved in and out as we can talk about a myriad of topics.  This is what we talked about last night that was a highlight for me. The theme that kept arising and we keep gravitating towards is change, the only constant in education.  It made me reflect about my experiences as a teacher, my next step in my career, my desire to have a greater impact in this field.  Since she attended a lecture by a superintendent, she shared some of the takeaways from it. There are several thoughts that resonated with me, for example, the fact that embracing change will broaden your perspective.  I am a firm believer that when a person embraces change, they are placed exactly where they need to be.  The people surrounding them will be exactly what we need to grow personally and professionally.  Although I have embraced change as a teacher, it becomes difficult to embrace change in a bigger scale.  How often do we put our hand down, or do not raise our hand at all to embark on new professional journeys because we question if we can do it at all, or again, the question of balance arise again.

I love how a light-hearted fun filled day is turned into a reflective evening with deep and meaningful conversations that makes us reflect.

 

One thought on “Perfect Saturday”

  1. My sister is also a teacher and we have very similar conversations. She has a pool and I am there most days in the summer. We call those days our educational round-tables or educational summits! Love those conversations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

